College Organization Tips

When it comes to school work…I’m lost as far as organization goes. Now that I’m starting at an online university, I need to figure out how to get my work organized and scheduled.
I’ve perused Pinterest, and there are so many links for college organization, binder organization, etc. I want to read it all! I don’t have the time though (well I could read it all, but then I don’t think anyone in my family would get fed.)
So, I’ve come up with 3 methods I think will help me through. Once I master these methods, I will find others.

1. SQ3R method of reading textbooks.

This method involves reading all headings, subheadings, bold words, and pictures to get the general idea of what will be read. Reading the questions at the end of the chapter helps gain a sense of what information should be pulled from the text. Once the questions are read, then comes reading the chapter, repeating what has been read then recheck to make sure questions have been answered correctly.

2. One task at a time

I will need to remind myself of this all the time. I always have a million things going on in my head and I tend to forget what I’m supposed to be doing at that moment in time. Multitasking really isn’t an efficient way of getting things done. Focusing on one thing at a time will help to get it done faster and with the least amount of errors.

3. Keep social media to a minimum

I admit it…I’m addicted to FB and Pinterest. I check them frequently and can easily lose HOURS of my time on them! I really need to limit my time on these sites when I’m studying…especially since I’m an online student!I hope that these tips can help you as well! Do you have any tips for me? What helps you stay on top of classwork…or anything else for that matter.

 

Categories: College, Organization | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I'd love to hear from you!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

